How Bollywood movies ruined my life .

2015%2f10%2f22%2f56%2f843042ddljy-1e74c


First things first – I love Bollywood. But I also hate the fact that I love it. If you’ve ever watched a Bollywood movie, you’d know what I’m talking about. My question to the filmmakers though, is – WHY? WHY WOULD YOU TELL US LIES?

As I was growing up, Bollywood was a major, major part of my life. No, my parents weren’t taking me to the cinema all the time, but yes, I grew up with that idiot box I don’t even care about anymore. So well, as I was growing up, during the late 90s and early 21st century, we had movies on the television all the time. They still do, but I was kinda jobless back then, and I loved watching whatever was available on TV. Ofcourse we didn’t have an internet connection at home back then, so there was no possibility of getting in the touch with the rest of the world and watch what they had to offer. You lucky kids these days can watch everything from Game of Thrones to Californication. But me, I watched DDLJ, Mohabbatein, Jab we met, Kuch kuch hota hai, Dil toh pagal hai et crap. And that too, over and over and over again. So much so that I know all the dialogues by heart. And as ashamed I am to say this, I STILL love watching these movies.

It was a trap. I was all a trap. These Bollywood movies turned me into a filmy character, one crazy bubbly girl right from cheeziest Bollywood film. Everytime I’d watch a new Bollywood movie, I’d want to be like the female lead in my real life. And that’s how I turned from an introvert to a loud Punjabi kudi in 2010, after watching Jab We Met. Yes, that’s the secret. But, bleh. Also, my parents HAD to name me Simran. Even though I was named before DDLJ was released, people think it was the other way round. And it hurts. Its hurts (LOL). My whole identity is based on a stupid Bollywood movie. People have to mention Raj everytime they talk about my love life, and guys named Raj think they can flirt with me because, duh, Simran and Raj forever and ever? And not to miss, every time I’m doing something exciting or going away from home – I think people’s hands itch or they can’t breathe if they don’t say – Jaa Simran jaa jeele apni zindagi!

Let me tell you about Bollywood movies. You’re so lucky if you don’t know about them though. So Bollywood movies have the tendency to take you far, far away from reality and the fact that there is in fact no real life prince charming riding on a white horse. When I realized how the world actually works, I was shocked and heartbroken. All my fantasies turned to nothingness and I wondered why why why why why why why did my parents ever let me watch all this crap! Honestly, I would never let my children or anybody else’s children grow up with this nonsense. LIKE SERIOUSLY. These 90s Bollywood movies turned me into a hardcore romantic, always dreaming about love, and emotions and separation et crap. And I genuinely wonder if I would have been different if I hadn’t grown up with this. I am pretty sure my whole personality would have been something different. I wouldn’t have constantly been juggling between characters and doing all the drama. I would have been more serious and enlightened about my life. And I might have understood earlier that people don’t prioritize love. Love isn’t everything that they think about, all day, 24×7 like in those movies. Guys don’t fall in love at first sight with a girl wearing a pretty suit and bangles, and violins don’t start playing in the background, and the wind doesn’t blow and the heart doesn’t beat faster. I’m sure people do fall in love, but I should have been told when I was a teenager that they don’t fall in love like in the Bollywood movies.

One thought on “How Bollywood movies ruined my life .

  1. ashokbhatia says:

    Well said. Movies do have this effect. But real life is not the same as reel life.
    Characters in movies succeed against all odds. We also know they eventually would. Yet, we sit through 130-odd minutes (thankfully, down from the earlier 180 minute offerings), just to see how it happens. As the climax builds up, the background music becomes more and more prominent and we get swayed by the goings on.
    Somewhere within us, we know real life does not offer such cake walks. Therein perhaps lies the power of celluloid. A willing suspension of disbelief!
    Our dream merchants surely know how to cash in on the vulnerabilities of the human nature.

Leave a Reply

